Happy New Year, Fiction Tab, Story Published

Hi Folks and happy new year to you all. The blog has steamrolled past a thousand subscribers now (wow that came fast!) so welcome to all who have joined recently. And definitely feel free to leave a comment, question, or provocation– for me at least, a great post usually requires a great question to spur the dark recesses of my brain, so have at it if there’s a thought burning a hole in your mind.

I have a new post in the works about the remarkable proliferation of devices in my briefcase which will be up soon… quite a fascinating little study in the digital ecology of e-readers and other gadgets that is turning out to be.

In the meantime, I’ve added a Fiction tab to the blog header– I’m a research scientist by day, a writer of offbeat speculative tales and other literary abominations by night. Occasionally I even write stories that other people actually like to read. I’ll post any new publications in my treasury of wayward fictions up there as they come through the pipeline.

I recently made a sale to Penumbra, a new professional-paying speculative fiction magazine from Musa Publishing, and the issue with my short story just went live a few days ago. It speculates on an unlikely bit of direct-input display technology that every guy secretly wishes he had. Check out my funny little tale and all the other great stories in the issue if you want an entertaining read.

“Piss Match,” written as Alistair Ainscott, in Penumbra, Vol. 1 No. 4 (Musa Publishing), January 2012. Professional market (5¢/word). [Kindle]

A high-tech urinal, a pointless workplace confrontation– what could  possibly go wrong?

You can help support a great new speculative fiction magazine by subscribing to Penumbra. Many established authors– as well as newcomers like me– appear in the pages of the magazine.

Thanks and I sincerely hope the new year finds you well.

2 responses to “Happy New Year, Fiction Tab, Story Published

  1. I’m a recent follower of your blog and I’m glad to hear about your new publication. Also I’ll be happy to hear about the devices you have in your briefcase, gotta love those amazing gadgets!

    • Much appreciated, and welcome to the fold 🙂

      I have not been able to do a single thing in almost two weeks now. Snowstorm here, then I was on vacation, then my family’s nanny fell in the snow and seriously injured her knee so she is out for weeks. Ack!

      I will finish up the briefcase gadgets post as soon as I can manage, though. Hopefully later this week.

      In the meantime I have a really fun post on succeeding in creative endeavors up by my alter-ego on another blog which I will be linking to shortly. (I actually wrote that one some time ago, but just published.)

      Ken

Leave a Reply

